Romantic…Advertisements?

Ok, I know what you’re thinking, but I’m not about to make this a soap box about my love life. This is about advertising, people!

Image

I just recently purchased the DVD for No Strings Attached, a romantic comedy starring Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman, that came out last year about two friends who decide to have a casual, yet physical relationship but they let their feelings get in the way. Rather than this being a sappy guilty pleasure movie watching night, it quickly became a guilt trip and a question about what I (a 22 year old recent gradate, looking for a job) am doing with my life. No no it was not because the characters mad me rethink my lifestyle, but because upon opening the DVD case there was this:

Image

A three month trial to PerfectMatch.com dating site. At first I was very offended. But then I realized that these advertisers and companies are just looking to target a specific audience. The women who enjoy romantic comedies, are the ones who long for that “fairy tale” love life. We can’t say we don’t all want happiness! Perfect Match is just zeroing in on that and using it to cash in on sometimes lonely women watching a good ole’ chick flick!

Is this wrong? Or is it brilliant?

Romantic…Advertisements?

Leave a Reply

